TC America Heads to the Bright Lights of Vegas to Settle 2019 Titles

11 October 2019 TCR, TC, TCA

Las Vegas, NV – SRO’s TC America series heads to one of the premier entertainment capitals of the world to close out its 2019 season, October 17-20 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Once the races conclude, the champions from the series will be crowned Sunday evening at the year-end Awards Celebration at The Bellagio. 

The final race weekend of the year will feature several significant story angles – it’s only the second time in its 30-year history that the Touring Car series will race in Vegas and the Speedway – last time was in 2000. It’s also the first time since 2000 that the series with race on a Roval and the first time since 2000 that the Motor Speedway will host a race using its Roval layout – utilizing both the Motor Speedway’s banked oval and infield circuit.

Hurczyn and Putt Look to Seal the Deal in Vegas

In the TCR division, FCP Euro’s Michael Hurczyn comes into the weekend with a commanding 40-point lead in the Driver’s Championship. He will pilot the #71 Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR. Sitting second in the points standings and the only driver mathematically standing in the way is teammate Nate Vincent who will pilot the #72 FCP Euro Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR. Hurczyn and Vincent have helped propel VW to the top of the Manufacturers’ Championship standings over Audi.

Looking for his first win of the season is Risi Competizione driver James Walker. Walker comes into the weekend third in the championship based on consistent results throughout the season and he’ll look to cross the line first behind the wheel of his #34 Alfa Romeo Giulietta.

VGMC Racing’s Victor Gonzalez scored his second win of the season at Road America and will look to repeat the feat at Vegas piloting his #99 Honda Civic Type-R.

Copeland Motorsports’ driver Mason Filippi has had a terrific season albeit running a limited schedule. He’s won more races than Hurczyn (four) and will look to add to that number driving the #12 Hyundai Veloster N.

McCann Racing’s Michael McCann Jr. has two race wins on the season – he’ll pilot the #3 Audi Sport RS3 LMS.

In TCR Cup, Bryan Putt holds a 37-point lead over Christian Cole in the battle for the class title. Putt will drive the #15 BSPort Racing Audi Sport RS3 LMS (DSG), while Cole will pilot the #27 McCann Racing Audi Sport RS3 LMS (DSG). Rounding out the class entries is Stephen Vajda in the #18 EXR Team by Premat Audi Sport RS3 LMS (DSG).

Schwartz Looks to Pad TC Stats at Vegas

With the TC Driver’s Championship title already in the bag, Rooster Hall Racing’s Johan Schwartz will look to add to his impressive 2019 totals behind the wheel of the #80 BMW M240iR Cup. Teammate Steve Streimer will drive the #81 Rooster Hall Racing BMW M240iR Cup.

Former Touring Car Champion Toby Grahovec will look to finish off the season strong piloting his #26 Classic BMW BMW M240iR Cup.  Auto Technic Racing brings two BMW M240iR Cup cars for Robert Nimkoff who will drive the #20 machine, and Tom Capizzi who will pilot the #52 machine. Copart / BimmerWorld Racing enters two BMW M240iR Cup cars for Cameron Evans – #82 machine – and Chandler Hull in the #94 machine.

Rounding out the TC field is the #06 DRS (Dynamic Racing Solutions) BMW M235iR Cup for Hanna Zellers, the #23 TechSport Racing Nissan 370z for Joseph Federl, the #31 Hard Motorsport BMW M235iR Cup for Shaun Webster, Jeff Ricca in the #78 GenRacer Hyundai Veloster N, and Austen Smith in the #90 Dasboot Motorsports BMW M240iR Cup.

Wittmer Versus Maxson for the TCA Championship

The 2019 TCA season illustrates exactly why Touring Car racing is so exciting – fans can always expect the unexpected. Championship points leader Nick Wittmer won the first four races of the season and it looked like he could run away from his competitors before even the halfway point of 2019, but then a DNF in Round 5 opened the door for Tyler Maxson who reeled off two straight wins to get back into the championship conversation. Wittmer will drive the #91 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ tS – he enters the weekend with a 22-point lead over Maxson who will pilot the #74 Copeland Motorsports Mazda Global MX5 Cup ND.2.

TechSport Racing will also bring their #22 Subaru BRZ tS for Damon Surzyshyn and the #44 Subaru BRZ tS for P.J. Groenke. Maxson’s teammate Bryan Ortiz will pilot the #70 Copeland Motorsports Mazda Global MX5 Cup ND.2.

One driver who could spoil the celebrations for either Wittmer or Maxson is Mark Pombo. Before the last race weekend at Road America, Pombo had won three straight races in his #59 MINI JCW Team MINI Cooper and was vying for the top spot in the class. But a disappointing Road America has Pombo entering the Vegas weekend a full 36 points behind Wittmer. The MINI JCW Team will also bring the #60 MINI Cooper JCW for Nate Norenberg, the #61 machine for Mat Pombo and the #62 machine for Tomas Mejia. The MINI JCW Team will also look to help Mini secure the TCA Manufacturers’ Championship – Mini leads Subaru heading into the weekend by only 13-points.

Another interesting story in the TCA division is the #57 Bryan Herta Autosport Hyundai Veloster Turbo entry. Tyler Gonzalez will pilot the first ever Veloster TCA machine in the official race debut for the car.

X-Factor Racing will have a strong four-car team at Vegas. Stephen Jeu will drive the team’s #02 Honda Civic Si, while Cole Ciraulo will drive the #25 car, team principle Chris Haldeman will get behind the wheel of the #69 machine and Taylor Hagler will drive the #77 machine.

On-track action for TC America begins Thursday, October 17 at 5:50 pm PDT with the first practice session of the weekend. The first TC race of the weekend is scheduled to go green Saturday, October 19 at 9:55 am local time, while the first TCR/TCA race is scheduled to start later that day at 1:40 pm.  All races will be streamed live on


TC America Entry List - PDF Link

Event Schedule - PDF Link