TC America Restarts Engines at VIR

3 July 2020 TCR, TC, TCA

The TC America championship returns to action at VIRginia International Raceway, a 3.27-mile, 17-turn road course, for rounds 3,4, and 5 of the 2020 season after an extended break due to the world-wide coronavirus outbreak.

Headlining the three-class field is the TCR category, which welcomes back Audi and VW DSG cars to fight for the overall win.  Ten TCR machines will run with Tyler Maxson and the #74 Copeland Motorsports Hyundai Veloster first in the standings after sweeping the season-opening weekend at Circuit of the Americas in early March.  Alex Papadopulos teams with Maxson in the #51 Copeland Hyundai.  

Victor Gonzalez Jr, who currently sits 5th in the championship, enters the #99 VGMC Racing Honda Civic Type-R.

Also bringing Honda machinery is DXDT Racing with three entries - CJ Moses in the #04, Scott Smithson in the #17, and Olivia Askew in the #29.  

KMW Motorsports with TMR Engineering and Roy Block will enter the #5 Alfa Romeo Giulietta.

As part of the DSG entrants, Rumcastle Racing brings the #16 VW Golf GTI DSG with Luke Rumberg piloting.  

New German Performance will enter the #44 Audi RS3 LMS DSG with Audi Sport North America Manager Tristen Herbert driving.

Finally is Brazil’s Vinnie Lima running the #88 VVL Systems & Consulting Audi RS3 LMS DSG.

The TC class sees an 11-car field with James Clay and the #36 BimmerWorld M240iR Cup leading after taking a round 1 win at COTA.  Chandler Hull, 5th in the standings, will pilot a second BimmerWorld entry in the #94 machine.

Classic BMW will field two cars with Toby Grahovec, who sits second in the championship after a pair of second-place finishes in the opening event, will drive the #26 M240iR with Phil Bloom in the #11.  

Autotechnic Racing brings along three BMW M240iR Cup cars for Rob Slonaker in the #20, Bruce Robson in the #21, and Tom Capizzi in the #52.  

Hard Motorsport will enter two BMWs for Johan Schwartz, the 2019 class champion, in the #31 TC America veteran Steve Streimer in the #81.

TechSport Racing enters the sole Nissan 370Z on the grid for #23 Joseph Fedrl, winner of round 2 at COTA.

Puerto Rico’s Ruben Iglesias will drive the #8 VGMC Honda Civic Type-R.

TCA, the third class for TC America, has 13 entries with the MINI JCW Team duo of Tomas Meija and Mark Pombo sitting 1-2 in the standings after splitting wins at COTA.  Meija, in the #60 MINI Cooper JCW, has 43 points, 8 above Pombo who will drive the #61.  

TechSport Racing brings a swarm of Subaru BRZ tS machines to the grid with Joey Essma in the #22, Damon Surzyshyn in the #24, PJ Groenke, running 5th in the title fight in the #25, and Ben Bettenhausen in the #28.  

Copeland Motorsports will run a pair of Hyundai Veloster Turbos with Luke Lange driving the #50 and hot shoe Tyler Gonzalez in the #57.  

CB Motorsports will also run twin Hyundai Veloster Turbos for Caleb Bacon in the #18 and Matt Forbush in the #33.  

Boehm Racing will field the #9 Honda Civic Si for Kevin Boehm, who sits 3rd overall in the championship after finishing on the podium in both races at COTA.

Jonathan Newcombe, who collected 8 points in the 2020 opening rounds,  will drive the #178 VGMC Honda Civic Si.

Roy Fulmer IV will make his TC America season debut in the #186 CCR Team TFB Honda Civic Si.  

TC America will run Round 3 on Friday, July 10th at 2:15pm ET with Round 4 going green on Saturday, July 11th at 11:30am ET.  Round 5, the make up round from the cancelled Lime Rock event, will run on Sunday, July 12th at 11:20am ET.  

All races are streamed live for free at Follow all the action at and across our social channels: 

Facebook: @touringcaramerica
IG @touringcaramerica
Twitter @tc_america
Official Series Hashtag: #TCAmerica
Official Event Hashtag: #GTVIR


Entry List - PDF Link