Qualifying Previews an Exciting Touring Car Race Weekend at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

7 October 2022 TCAM
  • Chris Walsh, STR38 Motorsports BMW fastest in TCX
  • Kevin Boehm, CrowdStrike Honda, blitzes ahead in TC
  • TCA sees Carter Fartuch, Skip Barber Honda claim the fastest lap time
  • Provisional Results

Indianapolis, Indiana - The TC America powered by Skip Barber Racing School field took off under a beautiful Midwestern sunrise to qualify for position in this afternoon’s first race of the weekend. The 30-car field is determined to finish strong, especially in TCA where the championship is hotly contested, particularly between Gresham Wagner (#21 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ) and Carter Fartuch (#16 Skip Barber Racing School Honda Civic Si).

In TCX, Chris Walsh made an impressive series debut in the #38 STR38 Motorsports BMW M2 CS (Cup) grabbing pole with a 1:35.526. Not far behind was Jacob Ruud in the #1 Fast Track Racing BMW with a 1:35.844. With a 30-point championship points lead, Rudd can clinch the TCX title this afternoon.  

On row two will be the #51 Homewrecker Racing Bimmer of Brett Scroggin with a 1:36.034 and Lucas Catania in the #26 Rigid Speed BMW laid down a 1:36.129. Completing the top five in TCX is Garrett Adams in the #54 Fast Track Racing BMW with a 1:36.196.

TC will see freshly crowned champion Kevin Boehm at the top of the running order, driving his #9 CrowdStrike Racing by Skip Barber Racing Honda Civic Type-R. with a 1:36.724.  Alongside will be his teammate Ken Fukuda with a 1:37.445 behind the wheel of the #42 Skip Barber Racing School Honda Civic Type-R.

Row two will be Clay Williams in the #60 Team JCW MINI Pro TC recording a 1:37.528, next to the #8 VGRT Racing Team Honda Civic Type-R of Celso Neto with a 1:37.683. 

Finally, Jeff Ricca rounded out the top five in his #78 Genracer / Ricca Autosport Hyundai Veloster N DCT TC with a 1:38.187.

In the TCA class, Carter Fartuch grabbed class pole with a 1:41.626 in his #16 Skip Barber Racing School Honda Civic Si, followed by PJ Groenke with a 1:41.702 in his #62 JCW Team MINI.  Third quick was Gresham Wagner in the #21 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ with a 1:42.423.  Fartuch and Wagner are tied in points and this championship won’t be decided until the final race on Sunday.

Lining up fourth and fifth in TCA are the #22 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ of Devin Anderson with a 1:42.646, followed by Cristian Perocarpi in the #61 Team JCW MINI with a 1:43.039.

Race 1 starts this afternoon at 1PM Eastern, followed by Race 2 at 10 AM on Sunday. The weekend schedule, live timing and scoring, as well as session reports are available at TCAmerica.us.

Be sure to watch all SRO America races live on YouTube at GTWorld, as well as follow along on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and Twitch.