Bring On The Brickyard – TC America Powered by Skip Barber Championship Finale at Indianapolis

Bring On The Brickyard – TC America Powered by Skip Barber Championship Finale at Indianapolis

Garrett clinches TCX championship
Ricca and Williams face off in TC Class
Final showdown for Bucknum and Anderson in TCA
Entry List 

The TC America Powered by Skip Barber is preparing for their final two races of the season, with Indianapolis Motor Speedway serving as the host for the thrilling event. The 14-turn, 2.439 mile road course will be welcoming a total of 26 drivers across three different classes, and there will be no shortage of action as numerous championship battles will be decided once and for all. 

TCX Class

Colin Garrett had a perfect weekend in the previous round at Sebring International Raceway, completing a clean sweep with double victories in his No. 44 Rooster Hall Racing BMW M2 CS (Cup). In doing so, he clinched the TCX class championship title, with a total of six wins and five podiums over the course of twelve races. 

Lucas Catania, who sits in the runner-up position in the class standings, also added another two podium finishes to his tally in his No. 26 Rigid Speed Company BMW M2 CS (Cup), bringing home two second-place results. He was accompanied on the podium by Maddie Aust in Race One, who will be returning to Indianapolis in search of more hardware with her No. 09 Fast Track Racing BMW M2 CS (Cup). 

Joseph Pizzuto had an impressive debut weekend in his No. 45 Extreme Velocity Motorsports BMW M2 CS (Cup), as the newcomer scored a third-place finish in Race Two in addition to earning the CrowdStrike Fastest Lap. Kenny Schmied and Daijiro Yoshihara also claimed Top 5 finishes in the No. 14 AOA Racing BMW M2 CS (Cup) and the No. 99 VGRT Honda Civic Type-R TCX. 

Joseph Catania had a strong Qualifying session in the No. 24 Rigid Speed Company BMW M2 CS (Cup) and will be aiming to use that momentum leading into the next round. Christopher DeFreitas will also be back driving the No. 93 Ian Lacy Racing Civic Type-R TCX, with Adam Gleason and Jackson Lee completing the lineup for the TCX class in the No. 21 Fast Track Racing BMW M2 CS (Cup) and No. 808 AOA Racing BMW M2 CS (Cup). 

TC Class

The previous round saw Jeff Ricca walk away from Sebring with another two wins in his pocket with his No. 78 Genracer / Ricca Autosport Hyundai Elantra N TC. However, damage limitations from Clayton Williams’ side means that the championship battle will go down to the final round in Indianapolis, as the driver of the No. 60 MINI JCW Team Mini JCW Pro TC still has the upper hand in the points standings following two second-place finishes.

Celso Neto secured another podium finish in Race One in his No. 7 Skip Barber Racing School Honda Civic Type-R, while Cristian Perocarpi bounced back from a difficult mechanical issue on his No. 37 MINI JCW Team Mini JCW Pro TC in the first race at Sebring and went on to take the final step of the podium in Race Two.

Completing the TC class entries are Sally McNulty in the No. 780 Hyundai Veloster N DCT TC, Jeremiah Burton in the No. 34 Skip Barber Racing School Honda Civic Type-R, Kris Valdez in the No. 11 DRS Honda Civic Type-R, and Ruben Iglesias Jr. in the No. 8 VGRT Honda Civic Type-R. 

TCA Class

Spencer Bucknum and Devin Anderson have fought with every ounce of energy for any extra advantage all season long, and put on some of the most exciting battles of the weekend at Sebring on board the No. 5 LA Honda World Racing 5 Honda Civic Si FE1 and No. 22 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ. They claimed one victory apiece, and will be going into the final round of the championship separated by just a few points.

William Lambros added two more podium results to his collection with second and third place finishes in Florida, further tightening his grip over third place in the standings with his No. 77 Skip Barber Racing School Honda Civic Si FE1. Shaoyi Che also stepped on the podium in Race One following a great drive in the No. 23 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ. Meanwhile, P.J. Groenke had two consecutive fourth place finishes in his No. 62 MINI JCW Team Mini JCW.

The TCA field will also see the return of some familiar names, with the likes of Cooper Broll in the No. 19 Skip Barber Racing School Honda Civic Si FE1, Mario Biundo in the No. 07 LA Honda World Racing Honda Civic Si FE1, and Bruce Myrehn in the No. 63 MINI JCW Team Mini JCW. There will also be one new entry, with Madeleine Lemke joining the pack for the final event in the No. 9 Ascent Racing Honda Civic Si FE1. 

Let’s Go Racing 

The TC America Powered by Skip Barber field will take to the track at Indianapolis Motor Speedway for Practice One on Thursday, Oct. 5th. Be sure to watch the live stream action on the GT World YouTube Channel, visit the TC America website, and follow us on social media Facebook