Walsh, Ricca, and Groenke Set Top Times in Qualifying

Walsh, Ricca, and Groenke Set Top Times in Qualifying
  • Walsh, Carrus Callas Raceteam Clinch Pole Position in TCX
  • Ricca, Ricca Autosport On Top in TC Class
  • Groenke, MINI JCW Team Fastest in TCA
  • Final Results

It was a busy Saturday morning for the TC America Powered by Skip Barber Racing School field as the drivers set off around Sebring International Raceway for their 15-minute Qualifying session. 

Chris Walsh clinched the ROWE Pole Position Award with a top time of 2:18.986 in the TCX class. The top spot in the TC class went to Jeff Ricca with a time of 2:20.893. PJ Groenke qualified first in the TCA class with a time of 2:29.909. 

TCX Class

It was a tight race to the top of the timesheets in the TCX class, with numerous drivers contending for pole position, each going faster than the next as the session progressed. With three minutes remaining, it was Chris Walsh who stormed ahead in the No. 104 Carrus Callas Raceteam BMW M2 CS (Cup), setting a flying lap time of 2:18.986 to clinch pole position.

Celso Neto followed in second place in the No. 22 Skip Barber Racing Acura Integra Type S, sitting just 0.146 seconds behind Walsh’s top time. Lucas Catania qualified in third on board his No. 17 Rigid Speed BMW M2 CS (Cup), with the Top 3 separated by only half a second between them all. 

TC Class

Jeff Ricca in his No. 78 Ricca Autosport Hyundai Elantra N1 TC was the car to beat in the TC Class. He posted a lap of 2:20.893, 0.780 faster than the No. 37 MINI JCW TC Pro of Cristian Perocarpi. It was a close battle for pole position in the TC class ranks, as Ricca Autosport teammates Ruben Iglesias Jr. and Sally McNulty also both made attempts at the class pole position. 

Ultimately, it was Joey Jordan in his No. 71 FTG Racing Mazda 3 who earned the third-best time in the class with only 2 minutes remaining in the session. 

TCA Class

PJ Groenke was in top form once again as he set the fastest time in the TCA class, claiming pole position in his No. 62 MINI JCW Team MINI JCW with a time of 2:29.909. 

Maddy Lemke followed up to qualify second in the No. 9 Ascent Racing ​​Honda Civic Si FE1, with Alan Grossberg completing the Top 3 in the No. 63 MINI JCW Team MINI JCW. 

Let’s Get Racing

The TC America powered by Skip Barber Racing School field will return to the track for Race 1 on Saturday, May 4th at 11:15 AM EST. 

If you can’t make it to Sebring, be sure to tune-in to SRO’s free live streams all weekend long on YouTube (GTWorld) and Twitch (SROMotorsports) and follow all the action through our social media channels and the event hashtag #GTSebring.