Strong 40-Car TC America Field Set to Compete at Portland International Raceway

5 July 2019 TCR, TC, TCA

(PORTLAND, Ore.) – A strong 40-car TC America field is set to compete July 12-14 at Portland International Raceway, part of the 59th Annual Rose Cup Races presented by Fastlife.TV. Featuring machinery from 10 of the world's leading OEM manufacturers piloted by a diverse mix of both up-and-coming racers and former series champions, the weekend will showcase two 40-minute TC contests and two identically timed TCR/TCA races at the 12-turn 1.945-mile road course.

Hurczyn/FCP Euro Look to Continue TCR dominance in Oregon

In the overall TCR class, Volkswagen Golf GTI team FCP Euro come into the Portland weekend having dominated the season thus far. Michael Hurczyn in the team's #71 machine has not finished outside of the top three in any race this season. He comes into the weekend leading in the driver's championship with 152 points. Hurczyn's teammate Nate Vincent in the #72 Golf GTI TCR sits second with 112 points – the team sits atop the team championship standings, while VW leads in the Manufacturer's Championship category.

Looking to challenge the two FCP Euro drivers is James Walker who will pilot the #34 Risi Competizione Alfa Romeo Giulietta. James comes into the weekend sitting third in the championship with 107 points. Copeland Motorsports' Mason Filippi, driver of the #12 Hyundai Veloster N enters the weekend fourth overall in the standings with 85 points.

Michael McCann Jr. will pilot the #3 McCann Racing Audi Sport RS3 LMS. Round 7 winner Victor Gonzalez will pilot the #99 VGMC Racing Honda Civic Type-R.

In TCR Cup, Bryan Putt, driver of the #15 ROWE Racing Audi Sport RS3 LMS (DSG) leads the class coming into the weekend with 169 points. Putt's efforts have helped Audi slot into second in the Manufacturer's Championship standings.

McCann's teammate Christian Cole in the #27 Audi Sport RS3 LMS (DSG) comes into the weekend second in the driver's championship with 125 points.

Rounding out the TCR Cup field is Stephen Vajda in the #18 EXR Team by Premat Audi Sport RS3 LMS (DSG).

Former Champions Ready for Showdown in Oregon / Portland's Streimer Looks for Victory at Home Track

In TC, former 2015 TCB champion Johan Schwartz holds a slim 10-point lead in the Driver's Championship standings. The driver of the #80 Rooster Hall Racing BMW M240iR Cup has three victorious this season. Teammate and Portland native Steve Streimer comes into the weekend third with 61 points and will look to secure a victory at his home track. Streimer will drive the #81 Rooster Hall Racing BMW M240iR Cup. Richard Zulman will drive the team's third entry – the #84 BMW M240iR Cup.

Toby Grahovec, the 2016 TC champion, sits second overall with 90 points and will drive the #26 Classic BMW BMW M240iR Cup. Grahovec has five second place finishes in six races and will look to score his first win of 2019 at Portland. His teammate Shaun Webster will pilot the #31 BMW M240iR Cup.

Fresh off his first career series win in Round 6, Cameron Evans will drive the #82 Copart / BimmerWorld Racing BMW M240iR Cup. Teammate Chandler Hull will get behind the wheel of the #94 Copart / BimmerWorld Racing BMW M240iR Cup.

Auto Technic Racing brings three cars to Portland for Robert Nimkoff (#20 BMW M240iR Cup), John Allen (#21 BMW M235iR Cup), and Tom Capizzi (#52 BMW M240iR Cup).

Joseph Federl and Mark Brummond will pilot the #23 TechSport Racing Nissan 370z and the #32 TechSport Racing Nissan 370z, respectively.

Completing the TC field is Greg Nitzkowski in the #09 DRS (Dynamic Racing Solutions) BMW M240iR Cup, Moisey Uretsky in the #55 Murillo Racing BMW M235iR Cup and Peter Atwater in the #66 NULITE BMW M240iR Cup.

Wittmer and Maxson Set to Duel at Portland

In the TCA class, Canadian Nick Wittmer leads a five-car contingent from TechSport Racing. Wittmer has won four of the first six class races this season and sits atop the Driver's Championship standings with 112 points. He'll drive #91 Subaru BRZ tS, while teammates Damon Surzyshyn in the #22 Subaru BRZ tS, Robert Crocker in the #24 Subaru BRZ tS, P.J. Groenke in the #44 Subaru BRZ tS, and Ben Bettenhausen, in the #95 Subaru BRZ tS will look to keep TechSport and Subaru atop both the team and Manufacturer's Championship standings.

Tyler Maxson swept Sonoma with back-to-back wins and carries momentum into the weekend only 11 points behind Wittmer. He'll pilot the #74 Copeland Motorsports Mazda Global MX5 Cup ND.2. Maxson's teammate Dinah Weisberg will drive the #50 Mazda Global MX5 Cup ND.1.

MINI JCW Team's Mark Pombo sits third overall in the standings with 73 points and will pilot the #59 MINI Cooper JCW. Pombo's teammate Nate Norenberg will drive the #60 MINI Cooper JCW – Norenberg sits fifth in points with 61.

X-Factor Racing brings a four-car Honda Civic Si team featuring Chris Haldeman in the #69 machine. Haldeman is tied with Pombo in points with 73. Haldeman's teammate's Stephen Jeu in the #02 Honda Civic Si, Cole Ciraulo in the #25 machine and Taylor Hagler in the #77 Honda Civic Si will also fly the X-Factor Racing colors.

Mazda is also represented by Ian Lacy Racing with Jenny Gannett in the #10 Mazda Global MX5 Cup ND.2 and Ives Motorsports, with Jose DaSilva set to pilot the #07 Mazda Global MX5 Cup ND.1.

Rounding out the TCA field is Sally McNulty driving the #TEAMSALLY #780 Honda Civic Si.

On-track action begins Friday, July 12 with the first TC practice session of the weekend at 8:55 am PDT, followed by the first TCR/TCA practice session at 9:25 am PDT. The first TC race of the weekend is scheduled to go green Saturday, July 13 at 10:25 am PDT, while the first TCR/TCA race is scheduled to start later that day at 4 pm PDT.  All races will be streamed live on CBS Sports Network coverage for TC America races at Portland airs July 24 starting at 7 pm EDT. Check your local listings for additional broadcast time and channel information.

Follow all the action at and across social channels
Facebook: @touringcaramerica
Instagram & Twitter: @sroamerica

Official Series Hashtag: #TCamerica
Event Hashtag: #GTPortland

Entry List - PDF LINK

Event Timetable – PDF LINK