TC America In Season Home Stretch at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

TC America In Season Home Stretch at Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Ruud, Classic BMW, BMW Motorsports Take Champion-elect Victory Laps
  • TC, TCA Championships Still On the Line
  • TC America Entry List - PDF Link
  • Event Schedule - PDF Link

Indianapolis, Ind. - TC America powered by the Skip Barber Racing School concludes its 2021 season at the corner of 16th and Georgetown at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway. 30 cars across the TCX, TC, and TCA classes are entered with championships on the line in two of the three.

The lone title that isn't up for grabs is the inaugural TCX crown which was clinched by Wisconsin's Jacob Ruud. The #81 Classic BMW driver headlines a four car entry in TCX which also features BMW M2 CS (Cup) cars from KMW Motorsports with TMR Engineering (#5), Hard Motorsport (#30), and a pair from Classic BMW for drivers Roy Block, Steve Streimer, Ruud, and Olivia Askew (#3), respectively.

The TC points battle is a three horse race between Skip Barber Racing School's Eric Powell, Auto Technic's Austen Smith, and DXDT Racing's Kevin Boehm.

Powell leads the championship by 29.5 points with 50 total points available in the two remaining races. The driver of the No. 92 Honda Civic Si has won four races on the year, but Smith won the last two at Sebring in his No. 51 BMW M240iR to claw back into the championship frame after a disastrous weekend at Watkins Glen.

Three points behind Smith is the reigning TCA champion Boehm who had a win and a second in TCA competition at Indianapolis last year to clinch the crown.

Just outside the championship conversation is GenRacer owner/driver Jeff Ricca in the No. 78 Hyundai Veloster N TC. Ricca holds fourth in the standings with a win and multiple podiums to his name this year and will be supported by his teammate Nicholas Barbato who is making his series debut in the team's No. 88 entry.

Elsewhere in the TC field is TechSport Racing's Rob Hines who is fifth in points after a pair of podiums at Sebring in his Nissan 370Z.

Derek Jones is back at the wheel of the TC-spec MINI JCW PRO TC from LAP Motorsports, based in nearby Brownsburg, Indiana, which also will be fielding entries for Cristian Perocarpi and Clayton Williams in TCA.

Joining Powell from the Skip Barber Racing School team is Ken Fukuda who debuted at Watkins Glen, while fellow Honda Civic operation LA Honda World has a pair of entries for Indianapolis with drivers Frank Szczesniak and Mike LaMarra while BMW operation DRS & Garagistic will field Matthew Ibrahim and Kris Valdez.

The TCA championship battle is also coming down to the wire with Forbush Performance driver Caleb Bacon holding on to a narrow five and a half point lead over Skip Barber Racing School's Carter Fartuch, while Bacon's Forbush teammate Luke Rumburg is also in the mix just 13.5 points adrift.

Forbush and Rumburg are the only two Hyundai Veloster Turbo TCA drivers in the TCA class field, while Fartuch will have the support of teammates Colin Harrrison and Mike Stillwagon in Skip Barber Racing School Honda Civic Si machines. However, the Hyundai brigade will be bolstered by a new entry from Bryan Herta Autosport.

BHA has entered a new Hyundai Elantra N Line car for Fanatec GT World Challenge America frontrunner Taylor Hagler who has previous experience racing touring cars for the team.
Joining Fartuch from the Honda camp are entries for Mario Biundo, Jose Blanco, and Sally McNulty from LA Honda World, VGMC Racing, and Team Sally Racing, respectively.

Completing the TCA field are a pair of Toyota 86 entries from TechSport Racing for TRD development driver Jesse Love, a recent winner in ARCA competition at Indiana's Salem Speedway, and former TCB champion PJ Groenke.

The final TC America weekend of the season gets underway with practice on Thursday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Race 1 is scheduled for 1:35 p.m. ET on Friday, while the season concludes with Race 2 at 3:20 p.m. ET on Saturday.