Yoshihara, Perocarpi, and Anderson Speed to the Front in TC America Powered by Skip Barber Qualifying

Yoshihara, Perocarpi, and Anderson Speed to the Front in TC America Powered by Skip Barber Qualifying

The TC America Powered by Skip Barber field was tearing up the track as they returned to the Brickyard late Friday afternoon for their final Qualifying of the season. The quick fifteen-minute session went off without a hitch and saw multiple challengers vying to lay their claim over the top of the leaderboard. 

Daijiro Yoshihara, Cristian Perocarpi, and Devin Anderson will be kicking off Saturday’s Race One action from the front row of their three respective classes. 


Daijiro Yoshihara set the pace early into the session and never looked back, taking hold over the top time in his No. 99 VGRT Honda Civic Type-R TCX and securing pole position with a time of 1:34.555. His rapid time put him ahead of Championship winner Colin Garrett, who qualified second in the No. 44 Rooster Hall Racing BMW M2 CS (Cup), with Adam Gleason completing the Top 3 in the No. 21 Fast Track Racing BMW M2 CS (Cup). 

Kenny Schmied will also be starting from the second row on the grid in fourth position on board the No. 14 AOA Racing BMW M2 CS (Cup), with Maddie Aust keeping him within her sights as she prepares to take the green flag from fifth in the No. 09 Fast Track Racing BMW M2 CS (Cup). 


Numerous TC drivers were in contention for first in class, exchanging fastest laps back and forth before Cristian Perocarpi went on to settle it once and for all in his No. 37 MINI JCW Team Mini JCW Pro TC with a time of 1:36.947. Celso Neto finished the Qualifying session in second position in his No. 7 Skip Barber Racing School Honda Civic Type-R, wedging himself between the two MINI JCW Team drivers as Clayton Williams crossed the line in third place in the No. 60 MINI JCW Team Mini JCW Pro TC. 

The Genracer team claimed the final two spots in the Top 5 with the likes of Jeff Ricca in fourth in his No. 78 Genracer/Ricca Autosport Hyundai Elantra N TC, joined by Sally McNulty in fifth with the No. 780 Genracer/Ricca Autosport Hyundai Veloster N DCT TC. 


Championship frontrunners Spencer Bucknum and Devin Anderson were neck and neck throughout the session, searching for every bit of speed as they seek every possible advantage leading into the final two races that will ultimately decide their fate in the championship. In the end, it was Anderson who gained a slight edge in his No. 22 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ, securing pole position with Bucknum’s No. 5 LA Honda World Racing Honda Civic Si FE1 just behind. 

William Lambros once again inserted himself into the competitive mix and will start Race One from third on the grid as he gets back behind the wheel of his No. 77 Skip Barber Racing School Honda Civic Si FE1. He will be accompanied by Shaoyi Che in fourth position in the No. 23 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ, and P.J. Groenke in fifth place in the No. 62 MINI JCW Team Mini JCW.


The series will be back on track for Race One on Saturday morning at 8:30 a.m ET, followed by Race Two on Sunday at 9:35 a.m ET. Fans can follow progression with Griiip Live, live timing. The studio makes it easy to follow class battles, lap times, and pit strategy for the five SRO America series. Stream the races live on the YouTube page, GT World or join the conversation on Twitch.