Smithson Scores Brickyard Round 15 TC America Pole at Indy

1 October 2020 TCR, TC, TCA

Indianapolis, Ind. - Scott Smithson will start on the TCR and overall pole for Friday morning's Round 15 TC America race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. James Clay will lead the TC field to green, while Kevin Boehm will head the TCA pack.

The 15-minute qualifying session saw New German Performance driver Tristan Herbert in the #44 Audi RS3 LMS jump to the top of the charts right out of the gate with a 1:34.255, followed by 2020 TCR Driver's Champion Tyler Maxson driving the #74 Copeland Motorsports Hyundai Veloster N TCR (1:36.339). In TC, Johan Schwartz posted the early first fast time with a 1:38.568 behind the wheel of his #31 Hard Motorsport BMW M240iR. In TCA, Boehm in the #9 Boehm Racing Honda Civic Si Boehm posted a 1:41.976 to top the category. 

A lap later KMR Motorsports w/ TMR Engineering's Tim Lewis Jr. in the #55 Alfa Romeo ran a 1:34.916, good for second overall at the time behind Herbert. In TC, Clay, piloting the BimmerWorld #36 BMW M240iR moved atop Schwartz with a 1:37.965. 

Herbert then improved to a 1:33.863, while Lewis Jr. followed with a 1:34.086. With the clock winding down to under two minutes left in the session, Smithson in the #17 DXDT Racing Honda Civic Type-R secured the pole with a 1:33.483. Clay's and Boehm's times held. Schwartz will start alongside Clay (1:38.077), while Eric Powell in the #22 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ tS will start second to Boehm (1:42.483).

Results are provisional until posted final. TC America drivers now get set for Friday morning's penultimate race of the 2020 season, scheduled for a green flag start of 9:20am local time. Follow all of the action live at