Garrett, Ricca, and Bucknum Fastest in TC America Powered by Skip Barber Qualifying at Sebring

Garrett, Ricca, and Bucknum Fastest in TC America Powered by Skip Barber Qualifying at Sebring

It was a bright and early start for the TC America Powered by Skip Barber field as they set off for their 15 minute Qualifying session first thing on Saturday morning. There were changes across the board in all three classes as drivers looked for every bit of speed around Sebring International Raceway. A red flag emerged with just a couple of minutes remaining, ultimately cutting the session short. 

Colin Garrett, Jeff Ricca, and Spencer Bucknum were the ones to add another pole position to their collections, and will be ready to lead the pack in their respective classes for Race One later today. 


The TCX class provided plenty of changes for the lead throughout the session, and it was anyone’s guess as to who would emerge on top and claim pole position. Multiple drivers exchanged positions back and forth as they continued to out-do each other’s flying lap times, but it was ultimately Colin Garrett who walked away from the Qualifying session with bragging rights, clinching pole position in his No. 44 Rooster Hall Racing BMW M2 CS (Cup).

Lucas Catania initially took the early lead in the session in his No. 26 Rigid Speed Company BMW M2 CS (Cup), but Joseph Catania got the jump on him shortly after, slotting his No. 24 Rigid Speed Company BMW M2 CS (Cup) into second position, with Lucas following suit in third. 

The Top 5 was further completed by Kenny Schmied in fourth position in the No. 14 AOA Racing BMW M2 CS (Cup), with Maddie Aust just behind in the No. 09 Fast Track Racing BMW M2 CS (Cup). 


Jeff Ricca showed off his rapid pace around Sebring from the get-go in his No. 78 Genracer/Ricca Autosport Hyundai Elantra N TC, adding another pole position to his name. Celso Neto raised a challenge of his own in the No. 7 Skip Barber Racing School Honda Civic Type-R and briefly took over the top spot in class, but Ricca was quick to reclaim it for himself, relegating Neto back to second. 

Teammates Clayton Williams and Cristian Perocarpi will be starting alongside each other in third and fourth on the grid in class, with Williams just 0.022 seconds quicker in the No. 60 MINI JCW Team Mini JCW Pro TC over Perocarpi’s No. 37 car. Sally McNulty also secured another Top 5 start in the No. 780 Genracer/Ricca Autosport Hyundai Veloster N DCT TC. 


Spencer Bucknum and Devin Anderson stayed very close to each other throughout the entirety of the session in the No. 5 LA Honda World Racing Honda Civic Si FE1 and No. 22 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ, but it was Bucknum who got the upper hand and clinched another pole position. Just as it looked as though Anderson would be settling for second place, William Lambros came flying by to take that position for himself in the No. 77 Skip Barber Racing School Honda Civic Si FE1, just a mere 0.010 seconds away from the top time set by Bucknum. 

Anderson therefore will be starting in third, accompanied by P.J. Groenke in fourth place in the No. 62 MINI JCW Team Mini JCW, and Shaoyi Che in fifth position in the No. 23 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ. 


The series will be back on track for Race One at 11:15 a.m ET, followed by Race Two on Sunday at 9:45 a.m ET. Fans can follow progression with Griiip Live, live timing. The studio makes it easy to follow class battles, lap times, and pit strategy for the five SRO America series. Stream the races live on the YouTube page, GT World or join the conversation on Twitch.